Jump to the main content block

History and Development

The Department of Finance at National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYSU) was founded in 1986, and was the first such department in Taiwan. The full-time master’s program began in 1991, while the Ph.D. program was started in 1995. This was then followed by the part-time master’s program in 1999.

Our master’s program was ranked 49th in the world in the 2015 UK Financial Times Global Masters in Management Ranking. Moreover, the Department of Finance at NSYSU made its first appearance in the Asian Global Masters in Management Ranking in 2008.

The Department of Finance at NSYSU obtained accreditation from CFA Institute in May 2013, thus becoming the first recognized CFA program partner school in southern Taiwan. Only 148 schools around the world have received CFA Institute accreditation since 2006, and we nominate five students to apply for CFA program scholarships each year. This indicates that our program is a high-quality one, and that this is recognized by the international community AACSB.

The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) is the most widely accepted and highly regarded accreditation agency for degree programs in management. The College of Management, NSYSU, offers AACSB Accredited business programs and one again earned AACSB Accreditation in 2015 for its undergraduate and graduate programs. AACSB accreditation signifies that our department must maintain international standards of excellence specifically designed for undergraduate and graduate finance programs. Many universities find these demanding standards difficult to meet, but our department is committed to continuous improvements in its curriculum, faculty teaching quality, and student performance.